“It was in 2020, just before we all got locked in a cage, that I finally actually decided to legally change my name by default. Because originally my name was John Charles Julian Lennon, and the crap that I had to deal with when traveling and security companies and this and that and the other,” says Lennon. “Whenever you had to present yourself, especially on like boarding passes, just as an example, you know they only use your first name, and so it would always be ‘John Lennon, John Lennon.”  He said he got tired of the wisecracks and jokes from people who didn’t recognize him.  “So finally I just decided in 2020, ‘Yeah, I wanna be me now. This is it, it’s time for a change,’” the 59-year-old explained, noting that people already knew him as Julian.  He legally changed his name to Julian Charles John Lennon. “I want to respect the legacy and the wishes of my parents,” he said. “But all I did was switch the ‘John’ and ‘Julian’ so I’m Julian Charles John Lennon. It’s as simple as that.” “But for me, it’s a whole other world, it really is. Not that I’m ashamed or have disrespect. I needed to be me. I needed to finally be heard as Julian. This is what Julian does, not ‘John’s son,’ so that has been a part of the path, and it just made sense for me.” You can check out the full podcast below!  Back in April, Lennon performed his father’s song, “Imagine” for the Ukraine benefit, “Global Citizen’s Stand Up for Ukraine.” Lennon had pledged to never sing “Imagine” but noted in a YouTube caption alongside a video of his performance that the only time he would consider singing the hit is “if it was the ‘End of the World.’” He further explains in the caption why he chose this song for the benefit: “But also because his lyrics reflect our collective desire for peace worldwide. Because within this song, we’re transported to a space, where love and togetherness become our reality, if but for a moment in time…” He continues writing, “The song reflects the light at the end of the tunnel, that we are all hoping for…” The singer-songwriter urges people to “donate from the heart:” “I’m calling on world leaders and everyone who believes in the sentiment of IMAGINE, to stand up for refugees everywhere! Please advocate and donate from the heart. #StandUpForUkraine”  Next, check out 65 of John Lennon’s most famous and profound quotes.