Why did La’Darius leave Cheer?

Marshall quit Navarro Cheer and alleged that Aldama bullied him and wasn’t there when he needed her the most, adding, “Monica, her favorite line is: ‘Be accountable for your actions.’ It’s her turn to be held accountable.” He tweeted in February 2021, “Quitting was better than walking blindly following the corrupt leaders!” He explained in an Instagram Live in the same year that his biggest regret was “Not showing how sad I was on Cheer, not taking time to heal myself from the death of my uncle, the mental abuse daily from my coaches and peers when the cameras stepped away. I regret not standing up and tell the world the truth then!” He also said that Navarro College’s cheer program wasn’t the same since 2019. He also claimed that the program was abusive, comparing it to the horrific sexual abuse that the USA Gymnastics team faced, though he didn’t go into detail on what specific abuse allegedly occurred.

What happened with Monica and La’Darius from Cheer?

Marshall and Aldama had a falling out after Season 1 of Cheer aired and after Monica went on Dancing With the Stars in fall 2020. Monica left Kailee Peppers in charge of Navarro Cheer during her absence, and Peppers and Marshall didn’t see eye to eye. Marshall didn’t feel that he was getting the support he needed while Aldama was gone. During an Instagram Live in February 2021, he fumed, “Let’s get into it. Since we’re being honest and open and you want to be a celebrity, Monica, and you want to go on Dancing With the Stars, let’s make you even more of a star. Let’s show them how infamous you really are. I forgot I had a voice now. You can’t shut me down no more [sic] … Now I wanna see you lie. ‘Cause you’re a Christian woman, right? Let’s see you lie in front of the world. I bet she can do it. She been doing it [sic].” He claimed that When she came back from Dancing With the Stars, “it was almost like she forgot where she came from.” However, Aldama said she was blindsided by Marshall’s social media fury and that she had no idea why he was so angry with her. “I’ve been really hurt over this because I’ve gone above and beyond for this kid. I’ve done more for him than probably anyone at this program that’s ever come through because I was determined the boy was going to graduate,” she said. “He came to my family’s house for Thanksgiving when he had nowhere to go. I paid his dorm deposit. I’ve literally done everything in the world for this kid. Never raised my voice at him. Yet you’re going to slander my name? I don’t get it. I take it very personally.” She did, however, allege that there was a dispute between Marshall and Peppers over a dog, hinting that she may have been scapegoated for that. However, Aldama and Marshall reconciled by the end of Season 2. “Honestly, I wake up sad every single day. I have this big hole in my heart and it won’t go away and that’s why I wanted to talk to you. I feel like you’re my child to me. It just really hurt. Do you really think I was abusive to you? That broke my heart apart,” Aldama told Marshall. He replied, “When I think of our relationship, I see you how you see me. I see you as my mom. I know we’re closer than that. Throughout this past year, I feel like you lost sight of that. Do I believe you’re abusive? No.” Sobbing, Marshall added, “I feel like you were not hearing me. I was like, ‘Monica, you have to listen to me.’ I promise. I would never lie to you. I don’t want war with you or anyone. I chose to forgive; even though what I did was way harsher, I hope you choose to forgive me.” Aldama did just that and they hugged it out.

Is La’Darius Marshall OK?

In September 2020, Marshall posted social media messages in which he sounded despondent and possibly suicidal, saying he’d “lost his fight.” Thankfully, Marshall was safe and reportedly received help from a friend and is in a much better place today.

What did La’Darius say about Jerry?

On Season 2 of Cheer, Marshall, a survivor of child sexual abuse, addressed the sexual misconduct allegations against his former teammate Jerry Harris. “I was scrolling through Twitter, and I see Jerry: ‘This ain’t true. This can’t be true,’” he recalled. “I started crying, and I called Gabi [Butler] and she is bawling.” He later added, “I would have snatched him up if I ever would have known about any of this stuff. I feel like it would have been worse than him going to jail. I don’t care how famous you are, I don’t care how much money you got, how much people, how much love—that don’t give you the right to do stuff like this. Especially when one of your best friends you know went through something like that.”

Did Navarro Cheer win Daytona 2021?

Unfortunately for Cheer fans, Navarro didn’t win Daytona 2021. The team still did well, however, coming in second place behind Trinity Valley Cardinal—and it was reportedly a close match. Navarro scored 98.0708 to Trinity Valley Cardinal’s 98.9667, meaning it was just a percentage of one point difference between them.

Where is La’Darius now?

Marshall currently lives in Pensacola, Fla., where he coaches cheerleading.

Where is Monica now?

Aldama is still coaching Navarro College cheer and released her first book, Full Out: Lessons In Life and Leadership From America’s Favorite Coach. Next, check out the 101 best TV shows to binge watch right now on Netflix!

 Cheer  Season 2  What Happened With Monica and La Darius  - 64